Welcome to FLC, Sharifa Ford!

CAM01704-1
Hi FLC Team, My name is Sharifa and I am your new part-time assistant .

“It’s a coincidence that I am working for the Florida Literacy Coalition because I am always preaching to my son about how vital reading is to his success.”

Originally from Brooklyn New York City, I have been in Orlando for over twelve years. I received my Associate of Arts in Organizational Communication from Rollins College in 2006. I decided to take some time off to raise my son, Jayson, who is now eight years old. In January 2013 I returned to college to set a positive example and to keep current on my academic and professional skills. I am currently a junior and look forward to graduating in May 2015. I am thrilled to be working with the staff at the Florida Literacy Coalition. I look forward to gaining new skills and being an asset to the organization. Last but not least, on my spare time I write poetry and I am a freelance writer for the Rollins college newspaper “The Sandspur”. Oh and my pet peeve: People who give bad customer service.

Leave a comment